## TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION





# I-20 EAST TEXAS CORRIDOR STUDY

**Community Presentation** 



## About the Study

- 18-month study to be complete in December 2014
- Focused on evaluating safety and capacity needs along I-20 through East Texas
- Work with stakeholders to identify and prioritize opportunities for improvement



## **Study Area**

 155-mile stretch of I-20 from I-635 near Dallas to the Texas/Louisiana state line through Dallas, Kaufman, Van Zandt, Smith, Gregg and Harrison counties



#### Why is this study needed?

- I-20 is an important east-west connection for travel and trade in Texas
- Interstate system is aging and population and trade are increasing
- Assess current safety and capacity needs and plan for the future
- Identify rural transportation needs



#### What will be reviewed?

## SAFETY CONCERN EXAMPLES

- Median barriers
- Vertical clearance of underpasses and bridges
- Interchange design
- Crash hotspots

## CAPACITY IMPROVEMENT EXAMPLES

- Additional frontage roads
- Additional lanes
- Alternate routes
- Freight needs
- Passenger rail options

#### **Advisory Committee**

- Assist TxDOT by providing locally focused input and recommendations
- Helps provide feedback to TxDOT on issues and concerns to be considered, prioritization of projects needed and possible funding alternatives
- Members are made up of 21 elected officials and other key transportation stakeholders (full list on next slide)
- Works closely with other key organizations to help provide accurate and well-rounded feedback

# **Advisory Committee Members**

Entity	Member Name	Title
Dallas County	Clay Jenkins	County Judge
Kaufman County	Bruce Wood	County Judge
Van Zandt County	Rhita Koches	County Judge
Smith County	Joel Baker	County Judge
Gregg County	Bill Stoudt (Chair)	County Judge
Harrison County	Hugh Taylor	County Judge
City of Balch Springs	Dr. Carrie Gordan	Mayor
City of Mesquite	John Monaco	Mayor
City of Seagoville	Harold Magill	Mayor
City of Forney	Darren Rozell	Mayor
City of Terrell	Hal Richards	Mayor
City of Canton	Richard W. Lawrence	Mayor
City of Lindale	Robert Nelson	Mayor
City of Tyler	Martin Heines	Mayor Pro Tem
City of Longview	Jay Dean	Mayor
City of Marshall	Ed Smith	Mayor
Dallas Area Rapid Transit	Gary C. Thomas	President
NCTCOG MPO	Michael Morris	Director of Transportation
NETRMA	Linda Ryan Thomas	Chair/Chair, Rail
Tyler MPO	Heather Nick	MPO Director
Longview MPO	Karen Owen	MPO Director

#### **Timeline of Proposed Activities**



## **Stay Informed**



#### Website updates

www.txdot.gov/inside-txdot/projects/studies/statewide/i20-east-corridor.html



#### **Fact Sheets**

Emailed to the mailing list, posted on website, available at outreach events, available at Advisory Committee member offices



#### **Open houses**

Currently planned for Fall 2014



#### **Email notifications** Sign up to join the mailing list on our website



#### Facebook www.facebook.com/TxDOT



#### Twitter @TxDOT, @TxDOTDallasPIO, @TYLPIO, @TxDOTAtlanta

#### **Questions and Comments**

# **QUESTIONS?**

Comments can also be submitted online at

www.txdot.gov/inside-txdot/projects/studies/statewide/i20-east-corridor.html